h1

So what?

March 13, 2009

Many of our small groups at Oakbrook are currently studying the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan.  I am reading it for the 3rd & 4th time as I write this.  In one group, we are in Chapter 8.  In another group, we are in Chapter 5.  I read it 2 times before that.  It is just one of those books that takes a lot of processing.  I have probably recommended this book more than any other book I have ever read.  Call me a junkie…..I am.

But the real reason that I am reading this book again and again is that I am tired of just reading a book and then moving on to the next book on my list without there being any change produced in me as a result of reading whatever I have read.  Same goes for when I read God’s Word.  The book Crazy Love is one of those books that will call you to something greater than the Americanized form of Christianity that we live.  It leaves you with a choice: to adjust how you live daily or stay the same.  I’ve needed to read it multiple times for God to teach me how to make some adjustments.  It’s been hard but it’s also been life giving.

This leads me to why I love the potential of a small group environment.  It’s in the context of community that we can be faced with the question ‘So what?’.  We are often asked this question in a Sunday sermon, but the question does not become personal until we are asked by someone who is expecting a response.  So what?  Or in other words, what are you going to change as a result of what you have heard or learned as it relates to becoming more like Christ?

Change is never easy.  It’s usually uncomfortable.  But we are called to it.  The way of Christ is counter cultural.  Every conversation we have carries the power to change, but it takes the courage and intentionality to ask the ‘So what?’ question.  As a leader, I want to encourage you to consider answering and asking the ‘so what’ question in all your discussions.  If we don’t, we may miss out on countless opportunities to feed the sheep we have been entrusted with.

One comment

  1. No doubt, one of the most difficult things to do is to personally (as well as getting our group members) to move from knowing to doing. I think it is because we miss a step, “embracing.” Between “knowing” and “doing” an individual must “embrace” the expectation so that the “doing” flows from the heart. By reading the same principles again and again, we can embrace the expectation which means we will do this thing consistently instead of just carrying out the responsibility one time the week after discovering the biblical expectation. Thanks for giving all of us something to think about.



Leave a Reply

